listography10things

Books, food, parenting and healthy living

Searching for reusable alternatives

Help me out.. what can I use instead of these disposable, single-use items?

  1. Dental floss
  2. Cotton buds (mainly used  for drying ears)
  3. Freezer bags – for separating bulk lots of meat to freeze
  4. Something to put meat in when buying it from the butcher/supermarket other than plastic bags
  5. Bread bags when buying fresh bread from places like Brumbies
  6. Paper towel – to cover food when reheating in the microwave
  7. Batteries – I need to invest in some rechargable ones. Do they come in sizes other than AA?
  8. Plastic cutlery when eating takeaway – I’ve seen little cutlery sets that clip together in camping shops, maybe I should get a set or two for my handbag.
  9. Plastic bags for bin liners (I’ve run out at the moment.. using strange bits and pieces like the carrot bag..)
  10. Razor – yep, probably should get an electric razor for my legs?
Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Searching for reusable alternatives

  1. Jackie on said:

    3. Freezer safe plastic containers (tupperware, decor or supermarket brand). Also, not entirely reusable but washable for a few uses, ziplock bags.
    4. Cooler bags – give them a good clean out afterwards. Keeps your meat cool too!
    5. Make a fabric bread bag??
    6. You can actually get a food cover, that’s been made just for this purpose. I’ve seen them in Homecare catalogues. I’m not sure where else you could buy one. I was going to get one myself but our microwave died 6 months ago and we still haven’t got a new one!
    7. Might pay to check that out! :)
    8. I think you’ve answered that one! Some disposable cutlery is actually sturdy enough to reuse… maybe not the ones you get with your takeaway food.

    Will be interesting to hear other ideas too! Now, I should really do all of the above more often myself

  2. I can’t believe it’s been this long since I wrote this.. where have the last few months gone?! I’ll definitely see what I can find with the freezer safe containers for meat, that’s a great idea, and they’d stack really well I think. I wonder if the butcher would put the meat straight into them for me? I’ve just found a bread bag on Etsy, and one of my other favourite sellers has recently released food covers. Maybe time for some online shopping!

  3. Pingback: Reusable food storage. « listography10things

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

